I wonder what it would be like..?

9 12 2008

Do you not ever wonder what the world would be like if there wasn’t any technology at all on Earth. I was just thinking about it and I realized that not much of us could really live without any technology. Like for example, most of my friends have internet. Now, if that internet were to be cut off for any reason they would all say ‘Oh my god, why isnt my internet working! Now I cant talk to people on MSN and I cant go on Facebook! Oh my gosh I want it back!’ Now if people complain because there internet isnt working imagine what it would be like if all of a sudden all the technology in the world were to be taken away. Now if you think back to like the early 1900s, there was no technology and the people were so much smarter than people on earth now. I mean, things got invented way back when and not many things today are even getting thought of. All of the things that people are ‘inventing’ today are upgrades to the original. For example, iPod. Every 6 months there is a new one. But none of them are really different.

How do you think the world would be without any technology? Would it be any different at all? Would people be smarter or even dumber? You decide.

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 12 2008
checkeredhat

good post, i think you are doing great!
Brianna ; *

10 12 2008
Clarence Fisher

I think our lives would be very, very different without the modern technology that we are so used to having to communicate with each other but also for traveling, getting our food and heating our homes. Imagine our world without not only telephones and internet connections, but also without furnaces and cars for us to go somewhere else. I think winter would be very, very long.

12 12 2008
Veronika

I think that living without technology would be hard, but not impossible – after all, the Amish live without technology and they seem to get along all right. I think the only real challenge for me would be transportation issues: the school I go to is thirty minutes away by car, so if we had no technology I wouldn’t be able to attend it. I don’t really use the Internet or watch TV much, so I think I would be able to go without those things. Although I don’t think getting rid of all techonology is practical or better for us, I do think it should be used in moderation.

I actually posted something on my blog about the effects of TV on the brain. If you are interested in looking at it, here is the link: http://vcs.21classes.com/vmkiss/archive/2008/11/21/technology-and-literacy-poster.htm

Leave a Reply

